Pop-up Books excite with debut single

“Polish Indie Pop Perfection”

Christmas Underground

“Elegant power pop vibes”


For Fans of… Alvvays, Bernard Butler, Dusty Springfield, Teenage Fanclub

Warsaw’s Pop-up Books introduce themselves to the world with their debut single – a double-A-side featuring the joyous break-up anthem, “Without You” and the infectiously melodic sun-drenched pop of “You Are The Summer” – Out 7th June on Too Many Fireworks records.

Inspired by celebrations of past break-ups, “Without You” is a thumping, vintage wall of sound. Layers of guitars, keyboards, and strings set the stage for the warm, reverb-soaked vocals of Jules Jones, sounding every bit the Spector-esque pop star. Conversely, “You Are The Summer” is a citrus-slice of power-pop; a fuzzy, melodic ode to falling in love in the summertime.

Seattle-born Jones (vocals / bass) and Scottish emigre Neil Milton (vocals / guitar) formed Pop-up Books in in Warsaw in early 2019, and drafted in Poles, Tomek Dorobczyński (drums) and Maurycy Bór (guitar) to complete the line-up. Milton and Jones have already met some acclaim with previous bands, Ephrata, and The Frozen North, respectively; and together have been described as “Polish Indie-pop perfection” in a review of their Christmas single release as a duo, late last year.

• Without You b/w You Are The Summer is out on Too Many Fireworks on 7th June.

• You can find the band at their new website:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *